Bugs :  K-Meleon Web Browser Forum
You can talk about issues with k-meleon here.  
Hindi fonts incorrect display
Posted by: raaghav81
Date: November 19, 2009 08:16AM

Hi,

I am new to K-Meleon. I am loving its lightness and fastness.
But there are some problems I am running into. So one of them I am reporting here which I think is a bug.

K-Meleon does not display hindi fonts correctly.

Here I have used a link for example

http://apnakahaniblog.blogspot.com/2009/11/blog-post_5444.html

Incorrect Display on K-Meleon

Correct Dispaly on IE8 of the same page

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Hindi fonts incorrect display
Posted by: disrupted
Date: November 19, 2009 09:20PM

no problems here in displaying hindi..the fonts look exactly as in seamonkey/firefox browser..make sure to select view>encoding>auto detect and make sure universal is detected

also make sure the haracter encoding used in utf-8

Posted by: guenter
Date: November 19, 2009 09:34PM

Dear Sir,

Did You find that all Hindi pages share this bug?
Else it is likely a sever or page specific problem.

I am afraid I can only read the Source Code of the page but no Hindi.

Page headers say UTF8. Have You set K-Meleon to use that encoding?

W3 says hundreds of Syntax errors. They may affect language rendering.

K-Meleon uses the same rendering engine as e.g. Firefox 2 and SeaMonkey 1x.
I am not aware of any Hindi specific bugs of that engine. But I am no developer.

A user knowing the language would have to check with either FF2 or SM1 whether he can confirm a K-Meleon specific bug.

A non official firefox2.0.0.22. Virus check recommended before use.

SeaMonkey 1.1.18.

p.s. I mainly know from European (de-DE) pages. If it is UTF8 and a server announce another encoding to the browser (via http-header) I get funny German letters. The other way around also. I would go to Menue item: View > Encoding and try to find the right one, if it matters.

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 11/19/2009 09:41PM by guenter.