General :  K-Meleon Web Browser Forum
General discussion about K-Meleon 
userContent.css Mods
Posted by: Peabody
Date: November 20, 2006 11:23PM

Greetings,

I am new to K-Meleon. The past several days I have been seriously learning my way around the browser and overall I am quite pleased.

I have been using Firefox since the Phoenix 0.4 days, and Netscape 4.0x before that. I am hoping to migrate to K-Meleon because XUL is painfully slow on my aging hardware. K-Meleon is wonderfully fast and snappy on my box.

Through some additions in userContent.css, in Firefox I am able to colorize the text in my tabs as well as in the status bar. In K-Meleon I now am using the same userContent.css that I used in Firefox.

With Firefox I added options to change the tab text color while a page loads, added italicized and a different colored text for unread tabs, a different color of read tabs, and even a different color for pages that the old Proxomitron filter throws back with error messages. I use a different color in the status bar text.

None of these userContent.css text mods work in K-Meleon.

I am using Elevated Buttons to help distinguish my active and inactive tabs, but that does not help remind me which tabs are unread.

Similarly, I added a userContent.css mod that combined the Firefox Stop and Reload buttons. This mod does not work in K-Meleon.

Perhaps these mods all are XUL events. In that case I understand why the mods do not work in K-Meleon. If that is the case, are there any plans to provide such features?

Thank you.

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: userContent.css Mods
Posted by: rmn
Date: November 21, 2006 09:53AM

With Firefox I added options to change the tab text color while a page loads, added italicized and a different colored text for unread tabs, a different color of read tabs, and even a different color for pages that the old Proxomitron filter throws back with error messages. I use a different color in the status bar text.