General :  K-Meleon Web Browser Forum
General discussion about K-Meleon 
K-Meleon under Win 8.1: bad RAM issue
Posted by: rodocop
Date: March 27, 2015 11:38PM

Well,
this story started when I begin to promote K-Meleon increasingly aggressive in 'Ru-net'.

Time to time I was faced to user feedback (with screenies) where KM was eating more RAM than FF or old Opera (which looked impossible to me).

And I've noted that all that facts are from users of Windows 8.1.

Today I've made a little test under 8.1 and XP - and what? The same session loaded under XP consumes about half of RAM wasted under 8.1!
Other browsers RAM consumption is relatively unchanged between 2 systems, but not so for KM.

So the question is: can something be made to optimize RAM consumption of KM under Win 8?

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: K-Meleon under Win 8.1: bad RAM issue
Posted by: Samuel
Date: March 28, 2015 09:34PM

I am not an developer, but unused RAM is useless RAM, it is pretty damn wrong to compare which browser is "better" by RAM value alone. Using RAM only becomes an issue if you are swapping to HDD. Also you can change how much K-Meleon caches on RAM on the preferences, or turn it off if you are so paranoid about RAM utilization...

Date: March 28, 2015 10:10PM

Samuel,
this is not about real use worries. This is about diagnostics of some issues and technical faults.

Posted by: 4td8s
Date: April 16, 2015 07:00AM

rodocop
Samuel,
this is not about real use worries. This is about diagnostics of some issues and technical faults.

in what versions of K-meleon is the "bad RAM" problems in Win8.1 happening, rodocop?
I can't seem to reproduce them on my dad's Toshiba laptop with 64bit Win8.1.

Date: April 22, 2015 01:12PM

Not a particular case - but general observation made with KM 75 (any build) by all russian users who are reporting things in ru-net (I'm the only supporter for KM in russian domain now).